Search this site

Queen's Gambit

by A.J. Hall

Queen's Gambit is the fourth in a series of Queen of Gondal ebooks by the author A.J. Hall. You might like to refer to their suggested reading order & more detailed series information. It is a quasi-historical AU of the BBC Sherlock series set (more-or-less) in three fantasy kingdoms devised by the Bronte children.

From the shore at Aulis to the palace in Gaaldine, to be a princess is to be a sacrifice.

In a remote country residence Master Ripley, a physician famed for his knowledge of frenzy and melancholia, tends a distraught woman broken by the ruthless dynastic politics of her House. The unexpected arrival of her kinsman the Crown Prince is a catalyst which forces Ridley to recognise the brooding evil at the root of his patient’s malady, a curse which has poisoned the lives of four generations and which sits so close to the Crown that treason itself ceases to be a relevant consideration.

Meanwhile, death, fire and destruction creep inland from the sea, and the wind is changing...

Queen's Gambit book cover

Book cover

This novel is rated 15. You might like to consider other ebooks by A.J. Hall set in the Sherlock and Queen of Gondal fandoms. This work is created on a not-for-profit basis and no infringement of the rights of the holder(s) is intended. All rights are those of the respective holder(s).