Search this site

The Alchemist's Snare

by A.J. Hall

The Alchemist's Snare is the 18th in a series of Queen of Gondal ebooks by the author A.J. Hall. You might like to refer to their suggested reading order & more detailed series information. It is a quasi-historical AU of the BBC Sherlock series set (more-or-less) in three fantasy kingdoms devised by the Bronte children.

The Alchemist's Snare is set chronologically after Gambit Declined and before The Crown Princess of Gaaldine and the others, and can be read as a standalone.

Sherlock, benighted at an Angrian country manor while returning from a diplomatic mission, becomes drawn into the dark undercurrents which swirl about the manor's owner, Andre Lemberger, formerly of Salonika, and his extended family. When murder occurs, Sherlock realises that the choice lies between preserving his alias as a traveller in wine and with it the secrecy of his mission, and his own neck.

Dedicated to my three companions of the five-hour thunderstorm in Hvar Town.

The Alchemist's Snare book cover

Book cover

This novella is rated 12A. You might like to consider other ebooks by A.J. Hall set in the Queen of Gondal fandom. This work is created on a not-for-profit basis and no infringement of the rights of the holder(s) is intended. All rights are those of the respective holder(s).